I heart Spring

I also love French knots!  They are so decadent, as they take a lot of thread, and they take a lot of time, but the results are delicious.  I got to combine Français noeud with a heart so I was happy as a pig in mud for – omg – five nights and three naps. Wowser. It’s a lot of work. But worth it.

Details French Knot Heart

The French Knot, for me, was originally inspired by this lady’s gorgeously gorgeous Love pillow.  At the time I was thinking of making a gift for a friend with a bouncing baby Boy. But I knew how much work it would take, so I just made his initial ‘B’ after seeing the above Love cushion cover.

Anyway me hearties. My heart reminds me of the cherry blossoms outside. Every year I take a photo of those fleeting beauties, and every year the photo comes out awful so I can’t share, but when those blossoms flutter in the breeze, and confetti down, that’s what the outside knots on this heart embroidery remind me of.

FrenchKnotHeart1

What I did

Template: I cut out a heart that was the right size for my embroidery hoop. I drew around it on the material in regular pencil.

Backing fabric: Used up a quarter of a fat quarter.

2 skeins and a bit of pink thread (I know, it’s a lot for a thrift-bunny)

Tip: I stem-stitched (or back-stitched) around the heart first, this keeps your edging French knots in order, otherwise – unless you’re really good I guess – the knots  skidaddle every which way. This is why French knots are so beautiful, they are just a touch haphazard, like a sprinkle of wild flowers sewn from a seed packet.

4 thoughts on “I heart Spring

  1. That is so, so lovely! I am going to need my grandma to show me French Knot again ASAP! Thank you for sharing. I’m very inspired!

Hey good looking, what you got cooking! Tell me all about it.

