Tree of Life – blue work and a little something something

I love redwork and bluework.

Part of the reason is that it’s Craft minimalism: all you need is plain fabric, blue or red thread, and a needle.  An embroidery hoop helps but isn’t totally necessary.

BlueWorkTreeofLife

Whenever I’m in between crafts or quilts but I want to do something, I redwork. As soon as I redwork I wonder if it might look better in blue.  Obviously, as soon as I do it in blue, I think, gosh, the grass would sure look better in red!

What I discovered is that bluework is just too plain for my eyes. It needs a little something something – extra shades of blue.

So with this tree of life, I outlined in navy blue – just a back stitch, then filled in the leaves with French Knots, leaf stitch and seed stitch in a pale blue with the odd bit of navy.

BlueWorkTreeofLife-detail

One thought on “Tree of Life – blue work and a little something something

Hey good looking, what you got cooking! Tell me all about it.

