Snow Pom Poms and Yarn Heart

Somebody asked me recently, how I learnt to craft. Well, I have to say, it was from my Mum, inspirational lady that she is.

I remember being about 7, making pompoms together, using cardboard doughnuts and leftover scarf wool.

There was always something she and I could do in dull moments with a needle and thread, or crochet hook, or knitting needles.  If I made something at school (recycled paper from toilet roll and bits of leaf, with a proper screen), my Mum would have some handy alternative so we could do the same project at home (photo frame and nylon tights stretched over it).

So I’m really pleased to share with you guys, what My Mother’s Been Doing So Far this December!

She decided to do an Advent adventure,  making a decoration a day throughout December.

Here’s a picture of her little White Christmas tree. This means the decorations can be small too.

tree

For the first couple of ornaments, she’s made the cutest little yarn-wrapped hearts, pompom snowflakes and a sweet little snowman.

Snowflake Pom Pom & Yarn Heart

What she did (so far)

  1.  Snowflake Pom Pom. Using the traditional cardboard doughnut template (should abound on google), use yarn that matches or complements your tree colour scheme.  My Mum used blue, blue & white and white.
  2.  Snowman Pom Pom. Put two white pom poms together. Make their faces really cute and voila, a fabulous snowman.
  3. The heart is a cardboard cut-out, wrapped with yarn.

PomPomSnowman

It’s fun to ask, what will she do next! I happen to know because she told me already, but for you it’ll be a surprise!

One thought on “Snow Pom Poms and Yarn Heart

Hey good looking, what you got cooking! Tell me all about it.

