Sawtooth Star Jewelry Mat

Yes, the craft swap I’ve been hinting about, can finally be unveiled!

Make and Craft – a UK craft magazine – hosted a craft swap where for November, the theme was ‘stars’. I just fancied doing a craft swap, I googled, and there it was. There’s nothing between me & the magazine.

Anyway, I immediately thought of a patchwork star. And then just as quickly I thought of French Knots.  It’s a beautiful, soft cotton Jewelry Mat for the organised lady’s dressing table.

The lovely Hannah – my swapee – wrote a few sentences on what she liked, and it included pastel colours, star gazing and pale green. 

So I drew a patchwork star design and then filled it with pastel coloured French knots – in lemon, mint, baby-blue and slightly darker than lilac. I backed it with the reverse side of a dark green (showing the pale green underside).

Sawtooth Star in French Knots

At first, because Hannah said she liked drinking tea, I was going to make a mug rug, but then I thought pastels and French Knots are a bit too pretty to get brown ringmarks, so I decided to make a Jewelry Mat. It’s for the dressing table, and when you take your jewels off at night and are too sleepy to put the pieces in the box, you can lay them on the soft cotton prettiness, and then when the tidy mood hits, move everything into its rightful place.

The rule was a gift of 3GBP had to be included, so when I went to Auckland’s Stardome Observatory one day, I picked up some informative postcards of the night sky in the Southern Hemisphere, and a really cool tote bag that says ‘Keep Calm and Star Gaze’. I really kinda want to keep the tote bag. But I can pop back anytime whereas Hannah will have to wait til she globe-trots to New Zealand.

Craft-Swap

It was a really fun swap. I enjoyed it immensely and I look forward to blogging when I receive Hannah’s lovely things through the mail!

2 thoughts on “Sawtooth Star Jewelry Mat

  1. Thank you so much for your wonderful swap! I adore the mat and the colours are so pretty, and the bag is amazing, I don’t think my little gift can quite top it at all.

    I’m posted yours this week, again so sorry for it being so late! Hope you’re having a lovely day.

    Hannah

    1. Hey Hannah, you’re welcome, glad it arrived and you like everything. I’m sure your swap stuff is perfect. Any kind of mail in the mailbox is my kind of wonderful!

Hey good looking, what you got cooking! Tell me all about it.

